TL;DR
- ChatGPT's desktop voice chat answers out loud on paid plans, and screen context is a separate setting under Settings > Voice.
- Apple Dictation and Claude's Quick Entry take your voice in. The official pages we checked do not confirm spoken replies from Claude.
- Siri with the ChatGPT extension asks you to confirm each request unless you turn that option off.
- Lazur answers out loud when you hold ⌥ ⌘ and dictates when you hold fn.
153 vs 52
words per minute, speech vs keyboard, short messages on touchscreen phones
Comparing Speech and Keyboard Text Entry for Short Messages in Two Languages on Touchscreen Phones (arXiv:1608.07323)1.30% vs 0.79%
uncorrected errors in final text, speech vs keyboard, same 2016 study
Comparing Speech and Keyboard Text Entry for Short Messages in Two Languages on Touchscreen Phones (arXiv:1608.07323)46%
of U.S. adults said they use digital voice assistants, survey from spring 2017
Nearly half of Americans use digital voice assistants, mostly on their smartphones: Pew Research Center30 seconds
of no speech before Mac Dictation stops on its own
Dictate messages and documents on Mac: Apple SupportA Mac AI assistant that talks back hears your voice and answers out loud, so your hands can stay on the keyboard. In 2026, ChatGPT's desktop voice chat answers with speech on paid plans, while Apple Dictation only types what you say and Anthropic's official Claude help pages describe voice input without spoken replies.
This page checks each tool against the official docs we could open on November 6, 2026. It covers what each one does, what it needs from your Mac, and where the documentation stops. Voice features change between app versions, so check the settings yourself before you pay for anything.
What "talks back" means on a Mac
A voice assistant does three jobs. It takes voice in, so you speak and the tool hears you. It gives voice out, so the tool answers in a voice. It can also see your screen when you ask.
Most people who say "talks back" want all three. Dictation gives you voice in only. A chat window with a microphone button often gives you voice in and voice out, but it may never look at your screen.
Here is a real case. An error message sits in a window, and you ask what it means. A tool that only hears you cannot read the error. A tool that sees the screen can read it. A tool that also talks can answer while your hands stay on the keyboard.
The common mistake is assuming "voice mode" means screen awareness. Some tools need a separate setting for screen context. Others never look at the screen at all. Check the settings page before you run your first test.
The tools that answer out loud
ChatGPT desktop voice chat
ChatGPT Voice runs in the ChatGPT desktop app. OpenAI's Learn docs list Plus, Pro, Business, Edu, and Enterprise plans. Edu and Enterprise users get a two-week early-access period first.
Screen context is a setting, not a default. Open Settings > Voice and turn it on. The docs say it works on macOS only. You can set a hotkey under Settings > Voice > Voice chat hotkey.
Expect permission prompts. The first voice chat asks for microphone access. It may also ask for Screen & System Audio Recording and Accessibility permissions. Allow them only if you want screen context. You can review them later under System Settings > Privacy & Security.
Two limits matter. Only one voice chat can be active across the ChatGPT desktop app at a time. And the docs page shows no publication date. Some search snippets say Advanced Voice Mode is being retired from the macOS app in 2026. The official help center still lists it. Confirm the current state in Settings > Voice before you build a habit around it.
Siri with the ChatGPT extension
Apple's route is different. Go to System Settings > Siri > ChatGPT, click Set Up, and follow the prompts. If you use Siri AI (Beta) on macOS 27, click Set Up Extensions, then ChatGPT, then turn on Use Extension.
Expect a confirmation step. Requests go to ChatGPT only after you confirm them. You can turn that off under Extensions > ChatGPT, but Siri AI does not offer the option. If you want hands-free use, Siri AI is the weaker choice.
Two more limits apply. Apple says server-side Apple Intelligence features, including Siri AI, have daily usage limits. Those limits vary by feature, request complexity, and system demand. Siri AI (Beta) starts in English, French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, and Spanish. It is not available to users under 13.
Apple's support page covers setup and the confirmation step. It does not say whether ChatGPT answers come back as speech on your Mac. Ask a test question before you rely on it.
Claude on Mac
Claude Desktop's Quick Entry includes voice dictation. Press Caps Lock to start, and press it again to stop. Review the text, then click the arrow to send it. The shortcut is off by default because it takes over Caps Lock. You can change it under Settings > Desktop app.
The requirements stack up. Quick Entry needs macOS 12 or later. Voice dictation needs macOS 14 or later. Claude Desktop must be running, and you need Screen recording, Accessibility, and Speech recognition permissions.
Here is the gap. Third-party guides describe a Voice Mode button in the Claude desktop app. Anthropic's official Quick Entry page covers dictation in, but it does not cover spoken replies. Until Anthropic documents spoken replies, treat Claude on Mac as a voice-in tool. If you need a spoken answer, test it on your own machine first.
Dictation tools that only type
Apple Dictation
Apple Dictation is built into macOS. Turn it on under System Settings > Keyboard > Dictation. Start it with the Microphone key, the Dictation shortcut, or Edit > Start Dictation.
Press and release the Microphone key. Holding it starts Siri instead, and that surprises a lot of people. Dictation stops by itself after 30 seconds without speech. You can also stop it with Escape, the Microphone key, or the Dictation shortcut.
Dictation types. It does not talk back. Apple's page describes speech to text, so you cannot ask it a question and expect an answer. Use it to write, and use a voice assistant to ask.
Superwhisper
Superwhisper's free tier does not expire. It includes unlimited dictation with local Whisper models. The company's voice-to-text page lists the Pro plan at $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 lifetime. Prices change, so check the current numbers on that page before you buy.
It needs macOS 14 or later and runs on both Apple silicon and Intel Macs. Local Parakeet and Cohere models do not run on Intel Macs. The page describes dictation. It does not describe spoken replies, so it belongs in the dictation group.
If you want a closer look at dictation-first tools, read Lazur vs Wispr Flow. It compares a dictation app with a voice assistant that sees the screen.
Side by side: which tool does what
| Tool | Takes your voice | Answers out loud | Sees your screen | What the official page says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT desktop app | Yes, voice chat | Yes, voice chat | Yes, with screen context on (macOS only) | Plus, Pro, Business, Edu, Enterprise plans |
| Siri with ChatGPT | Yes, through Siri | Not stated on Apple's page | Not stated | Asks you to confirm each request unless turned off |
| Claude desktop app | Yes, Quick Entry with Caps Lock | Not confirmed on Anthropic's page | Not stated | Dictation needs macOS 14 or later |
| Apple Dictation | Yes | No, it types | No, it types | Stops after 30 seconds of silence |
| Superwhisper | Yes | Not in the page we read | Not in the page we read | Free tier, macOS 14 or later |
| Lazur | Yes, hold fn | Yes, when you hold ⌥ ⌘ | Yes, while you hold ⌥ ⌘ | Runs on macOS, Apple silicon and Intel |
Where a page is silent, the cell says so instead of guessing. Check the linked sources before you decide, because these pages change.
How fast is talking compared with typing
People ask this because a talking assistant only helps if speaking saves time. The best-known number comes from a 2016 study of short messages on touchscreen phones. Speech entry reached 153 words per minute in English. Keyboard entry reached 52, a 2.93x speedup.
Be careful with that number. It measured phones, not desktop keyboards. A fast desktop typist will close much of the gap. The same study found that uncorrected errors in the final text were 1.30% for speech and 0.79% for keyboard. The corrected-error rate during entry ran the other way, at 5.30% for speech and 11.22% for keyboard.
Here is what that means for you. Use voice for drafts, prompts, and quick questions. Read the final text before you send it. You can measure your own speed with the speaking vs typing test. Run it once with a paragraph you already wrote, then compare.
Is anyone actually using voice AI on a Mac?
Pew Research found that 46% of U.S. adults said they use digital voice assistants to interact with smartphones and other devices. The survey ran in spring 2017, and 42% used them on a smartphone. That is old data.
Pew's 2026 AI findings only include a voice figure for children. Of U.S. parents of children 12 or younger, 37% say the child uses a voice-activated assistant. That comes from a survey run May 13 to 26, 2025. No current adult figure for voice AI on Mac turned up in the sources we checked.
Treat the 2017 number as background. It shows that voice assistants have been common for years, mostly on phones. It does not tell you how many people talk to their Mac.
Set up ChatGPT voice on your Mac
The steps below assume you already pay for a plan that includes voice chat.
- Open the ChatGPT desktop app and go to Settings > Voice.
- Turn on screen context if you want the assistant to see your screen. It works on macOS only.
- Set a hotkey under Settings > Voice > Voice chat hotkey. Pick a combination you will not press by accident.
- Start your first voice chat and allow microphone access when macOS asks.
- If macOS asks for Screen & System Audio Recording or Accessibility, allow them only if you want screen context.
- Close any other voice chat before you start a new one. Only one can run at a time.
- Test it with something visible on screen. Ask what a message means, and check whether the answer comes back as speech.
If the answer shows up as text only, you have voice in and text out. That is still useful, but it does not talk back. Note that result before you rely on the tool during a meeting.
Privacy and permissions for screen-aware voice AI
Screen access is the big ask. A tool that sees your screen can read anything in view. That can include client names, account numbers, and unsent drafts. Only turn on screen context when you need it, and close the tool when you finish.
Lazur says it listens and looks at the screen only while you hold the shortcut. It says audio and screenshots go to AI providers to answer, and they are not stored. It also says content is never used to train AI models. Read the current policy on the company's site before you decide, because policies change.
Apple's confirmation step in Siri is a privacy feature as much as a speed bump. Keep it on if you share a screen with other people often.
Review your permissions every few months. Go to System Settings > Privacy & Security, look at screen recording and accessibility, and remove any app you no longer use.
Common mistakes people make
- Expecting Apple Dictation to answer a question. It types what you say and stops.
- Holding the Microphone key and getting Siri instead of dictation. Press and release it.
- Turning on ChatGPT screen context and forgetting it is a macOS-only setting. It will not work the same way on another platform.
- Trying to run two ChatGPT voice chats at the same time.
- Turning on Claude's Caps Lock dictation without noticing it takes over Caps Lock.
- Sending dictated text without reading it. Speech errors are smaller than before, but they still happen.
- Assuming a plan or trial covers every feature. Check the plan requirements before you start.
Which one should you pick
Pick by the job you need done.
- For spoken answers about what is on your screen, use ChatGPT's desktop voice chat with screen context on. You need a paid plan from the list above. Lazur also answers out loud about the screen, and it is covered below.
- For typing less across apps, start with Apple Dictation, which is free and built in. Superwhisper's free tier also works if you want local Whisper models.
- For Claude, use Quick Entry dictation to speak your prompt, then read it before you send.
- For hands-free Siri with ChatGPT, expect confirmation clicks and daily limits on Siri AI. It is a workable choice, but not the most direct one.
Test any tool with the same three questions. Ask one question about a visible error. Ask it to draft a short reply. Ask it where a button is. Note whether it answers out loud, sees the screen, and keeps up with you.
Where Lazur fits
Lazur is a voice assistant for Mac that lives in the notch. Hold ⌥ ⌘ to ask about anything on screen, and Lazur answers out loud. Ask where something is, and it draws a circle and a label around it. Ask how to do something, and it guides you one click at a time, waiting for each click.
Hold fn to dictate clean text at the cursor in any app. Lazur does not click buttons or run other apps for you. It runs on macOS, on Apple silicon and Intel Macs. Windows is planned, not available.
If you want to try it, start at the download page. The trial is free with no credit card. Check pricing for the plans after that.
FAQ
Can ChatGPT on Mac talk back to me?
Yes. The ChatGPT desktop app has voice chat on Plus, Pro, Business, Edu, and Enterprise plans. Turn on screen context under Settings > Voice, which works on macOS only. Only one voice chat can be active across the app at a time.
Does Apple Dictation talk back on a Mac?
No. Apple Dictation turns speech into text. It stops by itself after 30 seconds without speech, and you can stop it with Escape, the Microphone key, or the Dictation shortcut. Use it to write, and use a voice assistant to ask questions.
Does Claude on Mac read answers out loud?
Anthropic's official Quick Entry page covers voice dictation with the Caps Lock key. It does not confirm spoken replies from Claude on Mac. Third-party guides describe a Voice Mode button, so test it on your own machine before you rely on it.
Do I need screen recording permission for a voice assistant?
It depends on the tool. ChatGPT's screen context asks for Screen & System Audio Recording. Claude's Quick Entry needs Screen recording permission. Lazur looks at the screen only while you hold the shortcut, and it says audio and screenshots are not stored.
Sources
- ChatGPT Voice: OpenAI Learn docs · OpenAI · checked 2026-11-06
- Turn on ChatGPT on Mac: Apple Support · Apple · checked 2026-11-06
- Use quick entry with Claude Desktop on Mac: Anthropic Support · Anthropic · checked 2026-11-06
- Voice to Text for Mac: Superwhisper · Superwhisper · checked 2026-11-06
- Comparing Speech and Keyboard Text Entry for Short Messages in Two Languages on Touchscreen Phones (arXiv:1608.07323) · arXiv · checked 2026-11-06
- Dictate messages and documents on Mac: Apple Support · Apple · checked 2026-11-06
- Nearly half of Americans use digital voice assistants, mostly on their smartphones: Pew Research Center · Pew Research Center · checked 2026-11-06
- What the data says about Americans' views of artificial intelligence: Pew Research Center · Pew Research Center · checked 2026-11-06


