VoiceInk alternatives for Mac in 2026: four apps compared on price and privacy
If you want a VoiceInk alternative on Mac, the four main options are Lazur, Wispr Flow, Superwhisper and Aqua Voice. They overlap on dictation. They differ on price model, offline use, platform support and whether the app can see what is on your screen. This page compares them on the facts each vendor publishes, and it says where VoiceInk does better.
Updated Prices checked 2026-11-06
The short version
VoiceInk is a one-time purchase, Solo at $25 for one Mac. It runs only on Apple silicon and needs macOS 14.4 or later.
Wispr Flow and Aqua Voice are the better pick if you also need Windows, iOS or Android.
Superwhisper is the closest match for local models and file transcription on Mac. Check its price on the pricing page.
Lazur is not a dictation-only app. It answers questions about your screen out loud, and it dictates with fn.
Choose by the job first, then compare price. Test the shortlist on real work before you pay.
Side by side
Feature
Lazur
VoiceInk
Wispr Flow
Superwhisper
Aqua Voice
Price model
Subscription. Pro $18/month or $15/month billed annually. Power $120/month or $96/month billed annually.
One-time purchase. Solo $25 (1 Mac), Personal $39 (2 Macs), Extended $49 (3 Macs).
Free plan. Pro $15/user/month, or $12/user/month billed annually.
Free plan at $0. Pro price: see their pricing page.
Free plan. Pro $10/month billed annually, or $12/month month-to-month.
Free tier or trial
3-day Pro trial, no credit card.
No free tier listed. 14-day money-back guarantee.
2,000 words per week on the Free plan.
Free plan with voice-to-text in any app and Meetings on Mac.
1,000 words on the Free plan.
Mac chip support
Apple silicon and Intel.
Apple silicon only.
Mac. Chip requirement not stated on pages checked.
Mac. Intel Macs work best with cloud models.
Mac. Chip requirement not stated on pages checked.
Other platforms
Windows planned, not available.
iOS listed on homepage.
Windows, iOS and Android for dictation.
Not confirmed from an official source.
Windows, iOS and Android.
Local or offline processing
No. Audio and screenshot go to AI providers to answer.
Yes. Local transcription. Cloud Enhancement is optional.
Not described as offline. Audio deleted after transcription unless cloud storage is on.
Yes with local models. Cloud models process audio in memory.
Not described as offline. Privacy Mode stores nothing on servers.
Screen awareness
Yes. Hold ⌥ ⌘ to ask about anything on screen.
Not listed on homepage.
A context setting exists. Screenshot details not stated on privacy page.
Not listed on pages checked.
Deep Context listed on the Free plan.
Dictation focus
Dictation included, with fn. Not the headline.
Dictation, email drafting, text rewrite and a Markdown journal.
AI dictation, plus a Notetaker on Mac and Windows.
Dictation, Meetings on Mac and file transcription on Pro.
AI dictation, plus Realtime Mode and voice commands on Max.
Assistant tasks by voice
Timers, Reminders, Calendar, notes, music, apps, web search and Shortcuts.
Not listed on homepage.
Not listed on pages checked.
Not listed on pages checked.
Not listed on pages checked.
Refund or trial terms
3-day Pro trial, no credit card.
14-day money-back guarantee.
Not stated on pages checked.
30-day refund on all plans.
Not stated on pages checked.
Privacy statements
Content never used to train AI models. Not stored after answering.
No data retention policy stated.
Audio deleted after transcription. Training can be turned off.
Server logs kept 30 days. No training use.
Privacy Mode stores nothing on servers. SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
Best for
Spoken help with the screen and guided steps in any app.
One Apple silicon Mac and a one-time price.
Dictation across Mac, Windows, iOS and Android.
Offline work with local models and file transcription.
Multi-platform dictation, with Max for realtime features.
The options
Our app
Lazur
Voice assistant for the Mac that lives in the notch. Hold ⌥ ⌘ to ask about anything on screen, and Lazur answers out loud. Dictation with fn is included.
People who want spoken help with what is on their screen
Anyone who wants guided steps in apps, one click at a time
Users who want dictation plus everyday voice tasks in one tool
Alternative
VoiceInk
Open-source dictation for Apple silicon Macs. Local Whisper-family models, custom words, filler-word removal and text rewrite, with a one-time price.
Price
Solo $25, one-time purchase, lifetime access (1 macOS device). Personal $39 (up to 2 macOS devices). Extended $49 (up to 3 macOS devices).(source, 2026-11-06)
Runs on
macOS on Apple silicon only, macOS 14.4 or later. iOS listed on homepage.
Pick it if
One Apple silicon Mac and a one-time price
People who want local transcription by default
Users who like open source and can read the code
Alternative
Wispr Flow
AI dictation across Mac, Windows, iOS and Android, with a Notetaker on Mac and Windows. The Free plan has a weekly word limit, and Pro has no word limit.
Price
Free $0/mo. Pro $15/user/mo, or $12/user/mo with annual billing.(source, 2026-11-06)
Runs on
Dictation on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. Notetaker on Mac and Windows only.
Pick it if
People who dictate on a Mac and a Windows PC
Users who want dictation on their phone as well
Anyone who needs the Notetaker on Mac or Windows
Alternative
Superwhisper
Voice-to-text for Mac with local and cloud models. Pro adds file transcription and translation to English. Pro price not confirmed from pages checked.
Mac in pages checked. Windows and iOS not confirmed from an official source.
Pick it if
Offline work with local models
Transcribing recorded files
Users who want meetings on Mac
Alternative
Aqua Voice
AI dictation for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android. Pro gives unlimited dictation. Max adds Realtime Mode and voice commands.
Price
Pro $10 / month billed annually, or $12 / month month-to-month. Max $19 / month billed annually, or $24 / month month-to-month.(source, 2026-11-06)
Runs on
macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.
Pick it if
Users who want the same dictation on several platforms
People who want Realtime Mode and voice commands on Max
Teams who need per-seat pricing on Business
Why people look for a VoiceInk alternative on Mac
Most people switch for one of four reasons. Their Mac is too old, they need another platform, they want a different price model, or they want more than dictation. Pick your reason first. The rest of the choice gets easier.
Most people compare dictation apps at their own desk, on their own Mac. · Image by MasashiWakui from Pixabay
Start with the chip. VoiceInk says it works only on Apple silicon Macs. Open the Apple menu > About This Mac and read the Chip line. If it says Intel, VoiceInk is not an option for you, and the other apps on this page matter more.
Your Mac has an Intel chip. VoiceInk says it works only on Apple silicon.
You need the same dictation tool on a Windows PC, an iPhone or an Android phone.
You want a monthly plan with cloud accuracy, or a free tier to test first.
You want help with what is on screen, not only text typed at the cursor.
What VoiceInk does well, and where it stops
VoiceInk is an open-source dictation app for macOS. Its homepage says it processes all voice transcription locally on your device. It runs local Whisper-family models on the Neural Engine, and it works in any app. You also get custom words, Smart Replace and filler-word removal.
It drafts email, rewrites text and keeps a timestamped Markdown journal. Cloud Enhancement is optional. If you turn it on, only transcribed text goes out, not your voice. That combination is why many Mac users like it.
The limits are clear. VoiceInk needs Apple silicon and macOS 14.4 or later. Its homepage also lists iOS, but the Mac app is the core product. The homepage states no data retention policy, so read the privacy text before you send sensitive material through Cloud Enhancement.
Where VoiceInk wins, and where the others do better
One price for one Mac. A $25 one-time license costs less than a monthly plan over a long period.
Local transcription by default, stated on its homepage.
Open source on GitHub, so you can read the code yourself.
Where others lead: Wispr Flow and Aqua Voice run on Windows, iOS and Android. Superwhisper works offline with local models and file transcription on Pro.
VoiceInk is a good answer if you want one tool, one price and a clear local setup. It is weaker on platforms and on help outside dictation. Pick it for what it does well, not for features it does not have.
Lazur: a voice assistant that sees your screen
Lazur is a voice assistant for the Mac that lives in the notch. Hold ⌥ ⌘, which is Option plus Command, to ask about anything on screen. Lazur answers out loud. It is a different tool from VoiceInk, so compare it on the job you need done.
Ask where something is and Lazur draws a circle and a label around it. Ask how to do something and Lazur guides you one click at a time, waiting for each click. Lazur does not click buttons or operate other apps for you.
Everyday tasks work by voice too. You can set timers, add Apple Reminders and Calendar events, take notes, control music and volume, open apps and links, search the web and run Shortcuts.
Dictation is included, but it is not the headline. Hold fn to dictate clean, formatted text at the cursor in any app. Snippets, a personal dictionary and clipboard slots help with text you type again and again.
Lazur runs on macOS, on both Apple silicon and Intel Macs. Windows is planned, not available. Pro costs $18 a month, or $15 a month billed annually, with 150 AI actions. Power costs $120 a month, or $96 a month billed annually, with 1,000 AI actions. Dictation is unlimited on both plans.
There is a 3-day Pro trial with no credit card. It starts when you first open the app. Test it on a real task, such as your next email thread, before you pay.
Prices compared: one-time, monthly and free tiers
VoiceInk is the only one-time price in this list that we could confirm. Solo is $25 with lifetime access on one macOS device. Personal is $39 for up to two Macs. Extended is $49 for up to three Macs. Each plan lists a 14-day money-back guarantee.
Wispr Flow has a Free plan at $0 per month, with a limited number of words per week. Its Pro plan is $15 per user per month, or $12 per user per month with the annual option. Pro has no word limit.
Aqua Voice's Free plan includes 1,000 words. Pro is $10 a month billed annually, or $12 a month month-to-month. Max is $19 a month billed annually, or $24 a month month-to-month, and it adds Realtime Mode and voice commands. Business is priced per seat, with a two-seat minimum.
Superwhisper's Free plan is $0. We could not confirm its Pro price from the official page. The homepage shows a figure we could not read with confidence, so we leave it out. Check the live number on their pricing page before you buy. Superwhisper offers a 30 day refund on all plans.
Try the math for one Mac. The VoiceInk Solo plan costs $25 once. Wispr Flow Pro, billed annually, costs $12 per user per month. So $25 covers about two months of Wispr Flow Pro. Decide whether two months of that tool is worth it to you.
The common mistake is to compare a monthly price with a one-time price and stop there. Count the months you will use the app. A subscription keeps billing while a one-time license stays on your Mac. A free tier also has a cap, so check the word limit before you rely on it.
Privacy: local models, cloud models and what gets stored
Privacy is the reason many people leave VoiceInk, or never start with it. Each vendor describes its setup differently. Read the claims, then check the settings on your Mac before you record anything sensitive.
VoiceInk says local transcription stays on your device. Cloud Enhancement sends only transcribed text, and only when you enable it. The homepage gives no retention period, so ask the vendor before you use it for client notes.
Superwhisper's privacy page says that with a local model, audio and transcripts never leave your device. Cloud models process audio in memory and do not store it after the request completes. Server logs are kept for 30 days, and request metadata for up to 3 months. It says your data is not used for training.
$25
VoiceInk Solo, a one-time purchase with lifetime access for one macOS device
Wispr Flow says your audio is deleted as soon as it is transcribed, unless you turn on Dictation cloud storage. With that setting on, transcripts, audio and history stay on Wispr servers. Its privacy page says nothing you say is used for training when you turn that setting off. It does not state the default for individual users, so check it after you sign up.
Aqua Voice says that with Privacy Mode on, nothing is stored on its servers. Its pricing page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR and HIPAA compliance. Business adds zero data retention. Aqua's accuracy numbers come from its own benchmark, so treat them as a claim, not a test.
Lazur listens and looks at the screen only while you hold the shortcut. Audio and the screenshot go to AI providers to answer you, and they are not stored. Content is never used to train AI models. That is a cloud design, so it is not an offline tool.
If your rule is no network at all, the choice narrows to local tools. VoiceInk and Superwhisper's local models fit that rule. Lazur sends audio and screenshots to AI providers, so it does not fit a no-network rule.
Platforms: Mac only, or Windows and iOS too
Platform support decides more choices than price does. Check your other devices before you pick an app. Here is what each vendor lists on its own site.
VoiceInk: Apple silicon Macs on macOS 14.4 or later. Its homepage lists iOS.
Wispr Flow: dictation on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. Notetaker on Mac and Windows only.
Superwhisper: the pages we checked describe Mac support. Intel Macs work best with cloud models. Windows and iOS were not confirmed from an official source.
Aqua Voice: macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.
Lazur: macOS on Apple silicon and Intel. Windows is planned, not available.
If you split time between a Windows PC at work and a Mac at home, the list narrows fast. Wispr Flow and Aqua Voice both list Windows. VoiceInk and Lazur are Mac only today. Confirm each platform list on the vendor's site before you pay.
How much faster is speech than typing?
Speed is the main reason to dictate, so the numbers matter. A 2016 Stanford study by Ruan and colleagues compared speech and keyboard input for short messages on touchscreen phones. Speech reached 153 words per minute in English. The keyboard reached 52, so speech was 2.93 times faster.
The same study found more errors in the final text from speech. Uncorrected errors were 1.30% for speech and 0.79% for the keyboard. During entry, though, speech had fewer corrected errors, at 5.30% against 11.22%.
Treat this as a clue, not a verdict for your Mac. The task was phone messages from 2016. Your result depends on your accent, your microphone and the words you use. Run your own test with /tools/speaking-vs-typing-test and /tools/typing-speed-test.
Which VoiceInk alternative fits which job
One Apple silicon Mac on a tight budget
VoiceInk Solo at $25 once is the strongest price case for a single Apple silicon Mac. Use the 14-day money-back window to test your names, jargon and writing style. Add custom words before you judge accuracy, because product names fail first.
A Mac at home and Windows at work
Wispr Flow covers dictation on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. Aqua Voice lists the same four platforms, plus a Free plan with 1,000 words to test. If you choose Wispr Flow, its Free plan gives 2,000 words per week, which is enough for a few days of real trials.
Dictation works best when you test it on the work you do every day. · Image by Pexels from Pixabay
Offline work and recorded files
Superwhisper's local models keep audio on the Mac. Its Pro plan adds file transcription, translation to English and cloud models, and it lets you use your own AI API keys. If you transcribe interviews from files, file transcription matters more than live dictation.
Help with the screen, not just dictation
Lazur fits when your problem is 'where is the export button' or 'how do I do this in this app'. It points, explains and guides. Ask Lazur to walk you through it, and you still do the clicks yourself. That keeps you in control of the app.
A short trial on real work tells you more than a feature list. · Image by StockSnap from Pixabay
Mistakes people make when switching dictation apps
Buying a lifetime license before checking the chip. Open the Apple menu > About This Mac first.
Testing with one short sentence. Dictate a full page of your normal writing before you decide.
Skipping the microphone permission. Open System Settings > Privacy & Security > Microphone and allow the app.
Ignoring the refund window. VoiceInk lists 14 days, Superwhisper lists 30 days on all plans, and Lazur offers a 3-day Pro trial.
Forgetting custom words. Names, product terms and acronyms fail first, so add them before you judge accuracy.
A one-afternoon test for any VoiceInk alternative
Open the Apple menu > About This Mac and note your chip and macOS version.
Shortlist two apps that match your job, not the three you saw first.
Dictate the same paragraph of your normal writing into each app.
Count the words you fix. Score the output with /tools/dictation-accuracy-checker.
Read the privacy page and set the storage option you want before you record real work.
Use the trial or refund window on real work for a few days, then decide.
If your main need is help inside other apps, start with Lazur's 3-day Pro trial from the download page. Keep dictation as a second test, and judge it on your own sentences.
Questions people ask
Is there a free VoiceInk alternative for Mac?
Superwhisper has a Free plan at $0 with voice-to-text in any app, Meetings on Mac and unlimited Whisper models, according to its homepage. Wispr Flow's Free plan allows 2,000 words per week. Aqua Voice's Free plan includes 1,000 words. Check each limit before you rely on a free tier for daily work.
Does VoiceInk work on Intel Macs?
No. The VoiceInk homepage says it works only on Apple silicon Macs and requires macOS 14.4 or later. If your Mac has an Intel chip, pick another app. Superwhisper says Intel Macs work best with cloud models, so check its requirements before you buy.
Is VoiceInk fully offline?
VoiceInk says it processes all voice transcription locally on your device. Cloud Enhancement is optional, and when you turn it on, only transcribed text is processed, not your voice. Keep it off if you need a strictly local setup, and confirm the setting on the vendor's site.
Which VoiceInk alternative is cheapest for one Mac?
VoiceInk Solo is the only one-time price on this list that we could confirm, at $25 for one Mac. Wispr Flow Pro is $12 per user per month on annual billing. Aqua Voice Pro is $10 per month billed annually. Check Superwhisper's Pro price on its pricing page before you compare.
Can Lazur replace VoiceInk for dictation?
Lazur dictates clean, formatted text at the cursor in any app. Hold fn to dictate, and dictation is unlimited on Pro and Power. Lazur is a voice assistant first, though, and it sends audio and screenshots to AI providers to answer. If you need strictly local processing, VoiceInk is the closer match.
Is Wispr Flow safe for private notes?
Wispr Flow says your audio is deleted once it is transcribed, unless you turn on Dictation cloud storage. Its privacy page says training can be turned off. The homepage lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and HIPAA compliance. Read the privacy page and set the storage option before you dictate client material.
What should I check on my Mac before I switch?
Open the Apple menu > About This Mac and read the Chip line and the macOS version. VoiceInk needs Apple silicon and macOS 14.4 or later. After you install any dictation app, open System Settings > Privacy & Security > Microphone and confirm the app has access.
Product names belong to their owners. Lazur is not affiliated with VoiceInk, Wispr Flow, Superwhisper, Aqua Voice. Prices and features come from each company's own site on the date shown; check there before you buy.
Try Lazur free for 3 days
Hold a key and ask. Lazur sees your screen, points at the button and talks you through it, in any Mac app. No credit card.